ATI Magazine Interviews Interviews

Yungen // Maybe I’m too real, it’s either that or I’m overthinking.

Exclusive Interview with the multi-talented Yungen.

Q1: If you had the opportunity to get an inspiring message across to a lot of people, what would your message be? 

A1:  If I had the opportunity, my message would stay focused on your dreams, do what you want to do, some obstacles might come in the way but make sure you stay focused in exactly what you what to do in life.

Q2: How did you get started with your music? And if you weren’t an artist/musician what would you want to be doing?

A2: I got into music from being on the estate, I had older cousins that MC’d so looking up to them I wanted to be an MC, If I wasn’t doing music I’d be trying to play football.

Q3: When pursuing your dreams how do you deal with those closed doors and obstacles that arise and not let them get in your way?

Q3: When there are closed doors and obstacles in my way of my dream, I try to look at the positive in them and why they’re coming and try to learn from them. So I try to use that as focus not to make mistakes or to grow from.

Q4: What is the best thing about living your dreams?

A4: The best thing about living my dream, is obviously waking up every day and doing what I want to do.  I say that to my friends all the time that’s the best thing in life, waking up and knowing I am going to be doing something I want to do and not working a nine to five, working for someone else.

Q5: What or who keeps you motivated and inspires you?

A5: Who motivates me mostly, is my family.

Q6: What song lyric means the most to you and why?

A6: It’s probably one of my own lyrics  “maybe I’m too real it’s either that or I’m overthinking” sometimes I overthink things and I think am I going crazy and maybe that’s because I’m being myself and that’s how I feel.

Q7: What is the most memorable experience of your life/career so far? And what have you learned from it?

A7: The most memorable experience in my life doing my own first ever headline show, I remember being on stage and thinking I’m actually doing what I love. I use to dream about doing music and having fans, first ever song I made I was looking in the crowd and it was the best experience of my life.

Q8: Would you go back and change anything in your journey so far? (If no, why)

A8: I wouldn’t change anything in my journey because I believe that’s made me who I am today. Even the negatives have shown me and made me release where I actually want to go.

Q9: What’s the best thing about living your dreams?

A9: The best thing about living my dreams is waking up and doing what I wanna do, I say to my friends all the time, that’s the best thing in life, waking up and knowing, I’m going to do something I actually love doing and not going to work a 9-5 that I don’t want to be doing, or going to work for someone I don’t want to work for, I work for myself.

Q10: Who or What keeps you motivated and inspires you?

A10: My family, making my mum proud and making my sisters proud and my brothers proud that means the most to be more then anything so that’s what motivates me to keep going.

 

Q11: What song Lyric means the most to me?

A11: Probably one of my own lyrics it would be ‘Maybe I’m too real, it’s either that or I’m overthinking’ I always overthink things and think, am I going crazy, am I going mad but maybe it’s because I’m being myself that’s how I feel.

Q12: What is the most memorable experience of your career/life so far and What did you learn from it?

A12: The most memorable experience of my life so far, would be my own show, first ever own headline show, I remember being on stage and half way through it thinking, I’m actually doing what I love, I remember I used to dream about doing music, having fans and doing shows, when I did my first ever headline show I remember half way through I did my first ever song I ever made, I remember thinking I’m WOW I’m actually here, looking in the crowd, like the best experience of my life.

Q13: What is the most positive message you have internazlied in life so far?

A13: The most positive message I have internalized so far is probably, don’t give up. As everyone knows sometimes when your chasing your dream, there are so many times when you want to give up, you get to the point where your saying don’t give up and something amazing happens, so that’s the most positive message I’ve internalized, don’t give up.

A14: Who do you want to collobrate with?

A14: If I could collobrate with anyone it would be Adele or Ed Sheeran at the moment. I feel like they bring out some real emotion, Adele talks the truth.

Q15: What’s next for you?

A15: I’ve just finished a EP, working on the album, so that’s next, got some singles ready to drop, coming very very soon, so that’s next.

Q18: Lastly, for those who don’t know where can people follow your career?

A18: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Leave a Reply

