Interviews

Chris Haze // We spoke to Chris Haze about his chart success, touring and so much more.

Q1: If you had the opportunity to get a inspiring message across to a large amount of people, what would your message be? 

A1: If I had the opportunity to get an inspiring message across to a large amount of people, it would follow the concept of the single and ep we are one, which is about equality, coming together and being as one.

Q2: How did you get started with your music? And if you weren’t an artist/musician what would you want to be doing?

A2: If I wasn’t a musician I would probably still be working in tesco. I started playing the guitar in 2010, and  I started writing my own material and first song in 2011, and released it in 2012. So 2011 I’d say.

Q3: What or who keeps you motivated and inspires you?

A3: My family, my girlfriend, my fans and just the music in general.

Q4: What is the most memorable experience of your life/career so far? And what have you learnt from it?

A4: It would probably have to be when I got to support an Irish Group called The Original Rude Boys and I got to play out a sold out Olympia Theatre in Dublin, which was like 2 and a half thousand people and it was the biggest gig I ever played. so i went from playing to 15 people to 2500 people and that was huge step for me, and that was an amazing experience and  it give me the drive to want to pursue music even more.

17699107_chrishaze640

Q5: Would you go back and change anything in your journey so far? (If no, why)

A5: No I don’t think so, I think everyone thats happened today all the no’s and yes’s by people, the support and non support, has shaped the way things are turning out for me now. I don’t think I change anything because then that will probably change what’s happening now.

Q6: In the next two years what do you ASPIRE to have done?

A6: In the next two years, hopefully of released another couple of albums, to start with anyway, and I would love to, my biggest dream is to just travel around the world to play to as many fans as possible, in as many different countries as I can, so it would be amazing to do that too.

Q7: How much of your life and background have influenced you to become a songwriter/musician?

A7: Well i didn’t know much of my dad, he wasn’t really around for very long in my life, but he was a musician and I do remember watching him playing the guitar, when I was like four, so music has been something that has been in my life, pretty much, all my life, it was always something i wanted to do, playing the guitar was something I always wanted to do, unfortunately I didn’t start it as early as I wish I could of.

Better late then never as they say.

Q8: What lyrics mean the most to you and why (ones you have written and or ones you didn’t write) 

A8: I would come back to my single We Are One, that’s just come off the EP, the actual single We Are One, it’s just a really empowering song, I think it’s really inspiring and the lyrics We Are One, they just resonate from me, . It’s an important topic, especially with everything that’s going on in the world at the moment. I think it’s a very important message. I think right now, the whole concept and lyrics behind my new single.

Q9: If you could collaborate with anyone who would to it be and why?

A9: I’d love to collaborate with Damien Marley because he’s probably one of my biggest inspirations, as i really started getting to know myself and writing my own music, i just think he’s a phenomenal rapper, and he’s class. It would be a dream to work with him and get him to throw down a verse on one of my songs, That would be class.

Q10: What is most inspiring message you have internalised in life so far?

A10: Be persistent, is definitely the one I found to my biggest help throughout my career so far. Being persistent is one of the main reasons I’m reaching the level I am at right now, (I’m not trying to be big headed or say I’m a superstar or anything like that) but too reach the level I’ve reached so far, it’s definitely taken a lot of persistence, continuously getting onto people, constantly racking there heads, knocking on doors and all of that different kind of stuff. Definitely be persistent.

Q11: What is your motto in life/what do you live by?

A11: Always be real, Always be honest, Always be you.

Q12: What is currently on your playlist?

A12: Loads of Ben Howard, I love Ben Howard I think he’s sick. A bit of Ed Sheeran on there, I am loving London Grammar and Rag and Bow man as well. There’s some Irish acts there, got some Hozier, a lot of hip-hop and a lot of kind of Indie songwriter stuff.

Q13: If you could have a song to be the soundtrack to your life what would it be and why?

A13: Its actually weird because I’ve just heard this song, Emapari Mi, a song called Shine On You. I was actually gobsmacked, I turned around to my bass player at the time and said this is probably one of the best songs I’ve heard in my life, It’s just a really strong empowering song.

Q14: What are your biggest dreams? and what are your biggest fears

A14:My biggest fear is not reaching the levels and goals i’d like too reach.

My biggest dream would be to sell out stadiums world wide, it would be a dream for me, I’ve done such a lack of gigging, Im literally dreaming about gigging it at this stage, because I’ve been spending so much time in the studio, just too travel the world and I just want to play my music to as many fans as I can.

Q15: What is next for you/your plans for the next year?

A15: At the moment, I am focused on promoting the EP and new single, I’ll be pushing that for the next couple of weeks, then I have to get the video done for the second single. The next single off the EP is fall for love so I will be shooting a video for that . Then after this EP kind of chills out a bit, I’ll look into releasing another single and another EP before the end of the year, I would imagine. So a lot more music, hopefully.

Q16: What would your advice to be to those out there who want to live out there dreams?

A16: Just go for it, Never ever give up, be persistent, never take no for an answer, or that your not good enough, never let people turning you away slow you down, or make you want to stop. Never give up.

Q17: Lastly, for those who don’t know where can people follow your career?

A17: www.chrishazemusic.com 

Leave a Reply

