Interviews

L Marshall // YOU ARE MORE… You, whoever you are, as a sentient being are far more than you believe yourself to be.

Exclusive Interview with multi-talentd L Marshall for ATI Magazine.

Q1: If you had the opportunity to get an inspiring message across to a lot of people, what would your message be? 

A1: If I could pass on a message it would be that YOU ARE MORE… You, whoever you are, as a sentient being are far more than you believe yourself to be. Your potential is endless, and not knowing this is like being trapped in a cage with no bars. Wake up.

Q2: How did you get started with your music? And if you weren’t an artist/musician what would you want to be doing?

A2: I got started making music as a teenager. I scoured Lagos looking for a studio but we didn’t have many back then… Eventually, our mother got my brother & I a basic set up we could build on from home; from then on he made the beats and I sang the songs. I really don’t know what I’d be doing if not music, I’d probably find myself exploring the world in search of what’s beyond.

Q3: What or who keeps you motivated and inspires you?

A3: My children. My parents, may they rest in peace. My brothers, cousins, friends… Everyone who loves or depends on me, everyone who told me the world was my oyster, everyone who ever looked up to me. I will live up to their very best image of me.

Q4: What is the most memorable experience of your life/career so far? And what have you learned from it?

A4: I think my experience with a record label was most memorable. I learned how to achieve success but also how quickly it can all fall apart & for what reasons. Mostly though I studied how their engine works, which was invaluable.

Q5: Would you go back and change anything in your journey so far? (If no, why)

A5: No, I am who I am because of the paths I took. If it were possible to change any one thing without affecting everything else… then sure, there are things I would change. But honesty one should never look back that way, the things that go wrong define us much more than those that go right. So no, nothing.

Q6: In the next two years what do you ASPIRE to have done?

A6: In the next two years I will be performing to multitudes, I’ll release more music than ever before and I will establish myself fully within the industry.

Q7: How much of your life and background have influenced you to become a songwriter/musician?

A7: All of it.

Q8: What lyrics mean the most to you and why (ones you have written and or ones you didn’t write) 

A8: I write all my lyrics… those that mean the most are those that speak of people I’ve lost. My music is a way of keeping my perspective of them alive. ‘Live all the Way’ is a good example of this, I wrote it for my mother while she was still alive so hearing it always takes me back.

Q9: If you could collaborate with anyone who would to it be and why?

A9: If I could work with anyone it would still be Jay-Z. I just respect the man he seems to be & all he has accomplished.

Q10: What is the most inspiring message you have internalized in life so far?

A10: The same message I passed on in question 1. I am more than I am told I am. I am everything that I believe I am. I am more than I believe I am.

Q11: What is your motto in life/what do you live by?

A11: My motto is more of a question I ask when in need of guidance. “What would the sage do? What would a king do?” I try to see myself as both, that I might make wise decisions benefitting my people. We’re all rule our own destinies, but without demanding of yourself rulership over yourself, you’d never know it.

Q12: What is currently on your playlist?

A12: 9black & Banks ON REPEAT.

Q13: If you could have a song to be the soundtrack to your life what would it be and why?

A13: Looooooool! Only one song could be my theme song and that’s ‘Back in Black’. AC/DC swag is immeasurable!

Q14: What are your biggest dreams? and what are your biggest fears?

A14: My dream is simply to be the very best I can be & in every way realize my full potential. My only fear failing to do so.

Q15: What is next for you/your plans for the next year?

A15: 2017 is all about getting back on the scene and enjoying every second of it haha. I’ve got music stockpiled and new ideas running rampant & I’ve been a hermit for like 4 years so I can’t wait to stretch my stage legs. This year is about shutting up and walking the walk.

Q16: What would your advice to be to those out there who want to live out their dreams?

A16: My only advice to those who aren’t living out their dreams is that nobody else is ever going to live them for you. If you’re not living your dream it’s because you never started living your dream. So start. Obviously, it won’t come tomorrow but it you never start it will never come. One thing that never fails is putting in the work. You wonder why people who have less talent than you do better than you… sometimes its luck, perhaps, but more often it is perseverance and hard, smart work. Oh and also, don’t chase the money chase the number 1 spot; money follows.

Q17: Lastly, for those who don’t know where can people follow your career?

A17: Catch me on :

http://www.twitter.com/LMarshallMusic

http://www.instagram.com/LMarshallOfficial

http://www.soundcloud.com/LMarshallMusic

Leave a Reply

