Interviews

Shani Cherry // You can’t want it, you have to need it.

Exclusive Interview with Shani Cherry for ATI Magazine.

Q1: If you had the opportunity to get an inspiring message across to a lot of people, what would your message be?

A1:  If I could spread an inspiring message it would definitely be about accepting and loving yourself. Learning to do that teaches you how to love and treat others, it helps you learn about letting go of things you can’t control and focus on what is good. I think being good to yourself means you are good to others because you know how you deserve to be treated and want to give the same to others around you. I think the world really needs that right now.

Q2: How did you get started with your music? And if you weren’t an artist/musician what would you want to be doing?

A2:  I have always wanted to sing, my Mum is forever telling people how I used to sing in my sleep so I guess it was just written for me! I know making music work isn’t easy but that is what separates the people who need music and the people who just enjoy it. If I wasn’t making music I’m not really sure what I would want to be, maybe I would have studied to be a psychiatrist instead of studying Musical Theatre. I’ve always been interested in that.

Q3: What or who keeps you motivated and inspires you?

A3:  My Mum has always worked super hard and given up so much for my brother and myself so she definitely inspires me to keep pushing. Music is my outlet for any pent-up feelings or even when I’m overwhelmed. I think this always inspires which way my music will go.

Q4: What is the most memorable experience of your life/career so far? And what have you learned from it?

A4:  The most memorable experience so far is my EP Launch, I had so many things go wrong in the process but I learned how to deal with them, I know what avenues to avoid for future projects and also what dates! I didn’t realize when I booked my venue that my launch was on Father’s Day so that affected the show. However, it was an incredible turn out regardless. I couldn’t believe how many people came, especially the ones who surprised me and also how into it, they all were! It really showed me how much support I have and that a lot of my worrying wasn’t worth the stress it caused.

Q5: Would you go back and change anything in your journey so far? (If no, why)

A5:  I wouldn’t change anything, I think everything has been a lesson. Everything that has happened in my journey has helped shape my career and myself. It has helped alter my mind frame into what it needs to be and there will still be many lessons to come. I would rather make the mistakes early and grow from it now so when I am ready I know I am delivering the best that I can.

Q6: In the next two years what do you ASPIRE to have done?

A6:  In the next two years I aspire to leave my full-time job, I would love music to be paying my bills. Everything decision I make is based around my music and how it will be affected. From moving to London, to where I work and what I do with my time/money. I have plans this year to go part time so I can dedicate more time to music so I am aiming to just work less and less.

Q7: How much of your life and background have influenced you to become a songwriter/musician?

A7:  I wouldn’t say my background influenced my singing, no one in my family is very musical. No one plays any instruments or anything. It is just something I have always loved and felt I have needed in my life. My life experiences have influenced how I write and what I write about.

Q8: What lyrics mean the most to you and why (ones you have written and/or ones you didn’t write)

A8:  There are so many different songs that mean something to me. It’s so hard to pick what lyrics mean the most to me. I think the most meaningful lyrics change depending on what I need to hear at that time. So many different songs come to my head when I think about this.

Q9: If you could collaborate with anyone who would to it be and why?

A9:  If I could collaborate with anyone it would have to be Beyonce. She’s just a goddess. Although I love more underrated artists and at the moment I am really loving Yo Trane so I would love to create something with him. I just think it would be amazing, I love his tone.

Q10: What is the most inspiring message you have internalized in life so far?

A10: The most inspiring message I have internalized so far in life is definitely to love yourself. I know I said it at the start but it really is the most important thing.

Q11: What is your motto in life/what do you live by?

A11:  The motto I live by is ‘you can’t want it, you have to need it’. I/you have to fight for something and you only want it, You’ll give up when it gets difficult. If you need it then you can’t give up because you won’t allow yourself to.

Q12: What is currently on your playlist?

A12: My playlist right now is a real mix. I am playing a lot of Yo Trane, Haley Smalls, H.E.R., Jojo. My Soundcloud is filled with unsigned and underrated artists right now.

Q13: If you could have a song to be the soundtrack to your life what would it be and why?

A13:  The soundtrack to my life would probably be Beyonce I Was Here. It just really resonates with me and the song itself is just beautiful.

Q14: What are your biggest dreams? and what are your biggest fears

A14: My biggest dreams are to be in a position where I can influence people in a positive way, to be able to reach and help people. Naturally, my music would be my way to send that message on a larger scale but I would definitely love to set up some kind of programme or something. My biggest fear, to be honest, is not having my Mum around, second to that is losing my voice forever. I can’t imagine not singing.

Q15: What is next for you/your plans for the next year?

A15: I have my next EP recorded and almost ready. There are we few more touches. We will be rebranding this year also so everything will be dropping around the same time. I’m very excited to reveal what has been going on behind the scenes as I have been quiet recently.

Q16: What would your advice to be to those out there who want to live out their dreams?

A16: My advice for anyone who wants to live out their dreams is just to do it. Don’t stress over things you can’t control, focus on what you can and work from there. Look at ways to work around things, look at your options and just go with what you feel is best. Just don’t stress over it and lose that precious time.

Q17: Lastly, for those who don’t know where can people follow your career?

A17: For anyone who wants to keep up with the progress my socials are:

www.twitter.com/shani_cherry

Instagram: ShaniCherry

https://www.facebook.com/shanicherryofficial/

Anyone who is interested in hearing Shani Cherry: Lost in Wonderland can stream it here on Apple Music and Spotify-

https://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/lost-in-wonderland-ep/id1125927753

https://open.spotify.com/album/0Jrt9gz5IsfsYndkfYaBdl


Anything else… Just search Shani Cherry.

Leave a Reply

