Interviews

Harry Strange // Do something that pushes you outside your comfort zone.

Exclusive Interview with Harry Strange for ATI Magazine.

Q1: If you had the opportunity to get an inspiring message across to a lot of people, what would your message be? 

A1: If I had to get an inspiring message across to a lot of people, I guess it would be to do whatever you can, to get to where you want to be? I’m still working on that myself but I’ve learned that when someone says you can’t do something, you say ‘watch me.’ (Apologies if that’s super cringing haha)

Q2: How did you get started with your music? And if you weren’t an artist/musician what would you want to be doing?

A2: I got started with music through my family. I grew up in quite a creative and artistic family so both my brothers had singing lessons and there’s me wanting to do everything they do I too started having singing lessons. If I wasn’t an artist I would love to think I could be doing something in film? I love film and editing footage and actually spent 6 months working for a viral Facebook company making viral videos which were a lot of fun.

Q3: What or who keeps you motivated and inspires you?

A3: Oh wow! Who or what keeps me motivates me is a hard question. Umm, I’ve got some very close and special friends and they are always there to push me a little harder and keep me moving forward when I start to slack.

Q4: What is the most memorable experience of your life/career so far? And what have you learned from it?

A4: My most memorable experience has to be playing at Union Chapel. I was supporting a good friend of mine James McVinnie at a Christmas concert a year or two ago and I turned up to play and they were like ‘So you’re good with just playing classical/instrumental guitar yes?’ and there was me who isn’t the most gifted guitar player, and for some reason I said ‘Yeah! Totally…” It all got sorted out in the end but it was one scary moment.

Q5: Would you go back and change anything in your journey so far? (If no, why)

A5: If I could go back and change some things I think I may have released some music a little earlier? Maybe just the odd acoustic single on Soundcloud?

Q6: In the next two years what do you ASPIRE to have done?

A6: God knows! I’m heading off to uni so I hope I survive that? And that music is still one of my biggest passions, maybe to have released an EP or a few more singles with some awesome producers?

Q7: How much of your life and background have influenced you to become a songwriter/musician?

A7: As I said earlier, I think growing up in a creative family who are involved in film and theater has influenced me to become a songwriter/musician.

Q8: What lyrics mean the most to you and why (ones you have written and or ones you didn’t write) 

A8: Wow! Some seriously hard questions going on here, I’ve got loads of favorite lyrics but perhaps Ben Howard’s ‘Keep your head up” all the lyrics in that song are just words to live by I think.

Q9: If you could collaborate with anyone who would to it be and why?

A9: If I could collaborate with anyone it would have to be Justin Vernon, he’s like a God when it comes to anything musical. His work on the Staves album and everything behind Bon Iver is just incredible.

Q10: What is the most inspiring message you have internalized in life so far?

A10: An inspiring message that I have internalized in life? Maybe to try and do something that pushes you outside your comfort zone or scares you.

Q11: What is your motto in life/what do you live by?

A11: As said in the previous question, I think/I hope I’m getting better at doing things outside my comfort zone. For example a few months back, I left my job and decided that the following week I would go out to Vietnam by myself. Was so scary but one of the best times ever and met some amazing people.

Q12: What is currently on your playlist?

A12: My playlist is always changing, but at the moment I have a bit of Billie Eilish (she’s awesome, totally recommend her to anyone, she’s only 16 or something!) I’m also listening to a lot of this band called Colouring, and then also Lewis Capaldi and the list continues to go on but just a few of my current faves.

Q13: If you could have a song to be the soundtrack to your life what would it be and why?

A13: If I had to have a soundtrack to my life it would probably be a Jack Garratt song? Just because he blends genres together so hopefully wouldn’t get bored of it. Being super practical here haha

Q14: What are your biggest dreams? and what are your biggest fears

A14: Biggest dreams? I guess to be successful and happy? Even if it turns out not to be successful in music, as long as I’m happy all is good! And then biggest fear would be not happy I guess.

Q15: What is next for you/your plans for the next year?

A15: So as I said I’m heading off to uni in September BUT I hope to release a few more singles and really work on nailing a live setup. Currently in the stages of getting a band together which will be so much more interesting to perform live too because I believe live performance is one of the most exciting and fun parts of music.

Q16: What would your advice to be to those out there who want to live out their dreams?

A16: Well I am still very far from knowing the answer to that and still need advice myself so if anyone has any, please send it over!haha but as I continue to say, when someone says you can’t, don’t listen to them and prove that you can.

Q17: Lastly, for those who don’t know where can people follow your career?

A17: So I’m on Facebook, Instagram and Soundcloud and on twitter as HarryStrangeUK because harrystrangemusic is annoyingly too long for twitter ;).

Leave a Reply

