Interviews

Natalia’s (Eksish) // Learn how to say no, focus on yourself, and take your time.

Q1: If you had the opportunity to get an inspiring message across to a lot of people, what would your message be? Learn how to say no, focus on yourself, and take your time.  (Please see Q 16)

Q2: How did you get started with your music? And if you weren’t an artist/musician what would you want to be doing?

A2. I’ve grown up in Birmingham, where teenagers often start clubbing at a younger age.

I remember attending several electronic music parties when I was about 15/16, and the ones that have stuck in my memory the most are  ‘ Face’ & Cloak and Dagger. At the time I didn’t really know the DJs or the genre that was playing, but It was a unique experience – so I kept coming back. When I was 19 I went to Berlin for the first time. I’ve partied at Club De Visionaire till the early hours and nothing I have ever experienced compared to this moment, you know? So I got back, saved up some money and spent a lot of time digging for new tracks and artists online. At the age of 20, I bought my first decks. Then a year after that – Started DJing out at several clubs around the country.

And here I am. Worth noting that I still come back to Berlin every single year. It’s where I recharge my batteries and where I find the motivation and come up with the most creative projects. It’s really refreshing. In terms of what I would be doing if I wasn’t DJing, probably be a counselor – mental health is another subject I feel really passionate about…. or maybe I would work in fashion, who knows???

Q3: What or who keeps you motivated and inspires you?

A3: The things and places that keep me motivated the most are places like CDV ;)! Annual Fabric Villalobos until the early hours is always a good motivation too…

Although it is the Romanian music scene that inspires me and always leaves me wanting more. The atmosphere at events like HOME, Half Baked or Stump with the usual Sunrise suspects such as Raresh, RPR Soundsystem or Cristi Cons is always so magical and unique… aka cannot wait till Sunwaves in August!

Q4: What is the most memorable experience of your career so far? And what have you learned from it?

A4:  Weirdly enough, the most memorable experience of my career so far would be DJing at Stump alongside Gescu (Sunrise), Cally & Laylla Dane. It was only one of my first gigs that I played, and there was barely anyone in the room at the time as I was only warming up and I wasn’t really that established back then. Nevertheless, it was one of the best parties I’ve played to this date. The party went on for about 20 hours, and I felt privileged to have started it, as the atmosphere of each night often depends on the warm up DJ. Since I played that first tune, I haven’t stopped dancing throughout the whole night & the after party. As the time pass by, it got busier, better, and weirder. To this day I can’t quite comprehend that I shared a stage and had a chance to party with some of the Sunrise gang and DJs who appear on Sunwaves stage annually, only having been Deejayed for about three months at the time.

Q6: In the next two years what do you ASPIRE to have done?

A6: I’ve started to produce recently, the goal is to hopefully have my own studio in two years, a little room with drum machines and keyboards- somewhere private where I can get to know my toys!

In terms of DJing, I would love to have DJed somewhere intimate in Bucharest or eastern Europe… Preferably an after party. Yes , I really need to start djing more after parties – those are my favourite for obvious reasons!

Q7: How much of your life and background have influenced you to become a musician?

A7: A lot. I was born in Poland and even though I haven’t spent much time growing up there as a teenager, I went to music school and played the violin for a couple of years. It was a private school, and as you can imagine Europe back then was very conservative ( It still is), my violin teacher made me play until my fingers bled. Looking back at it now, I’m kind of grateful as it gave me a lot of discipline.

My brother plays guitar & bass and has been since he was 14. My mother was a professional accordionist, so it’s safe to say that music has always been a massive part of my life. I also lived about 1.5hr train journey away from Berlin, and of course I was too young to go there, or even know about the amazing music scene up there but now I’m older I recall people talking about it. I’m actually very lucky in this sense as my parents were always very supportive of what I do and always did.

CNV00013

Q9: If you could collaborate with anyone who would to it be and why?

A9: Bella Sarris! There is something about her style that I really enjoy, you know? She’s just doing her own thing and has a lot of fun with it. And if we are talking the dream come true – Villalobos, Sonja Moonear, and Raresh would definitely be on top of my list. Although, regardless how wide their smiles go, I can imagine it being very intimidating! I find Ricardo in particularly amazing as I absolutely love his production. I love everything that has weird vocals and I love the good old 808 – so that would be a massive dream come true!

Q11: What is your motto in life/what do you live by?

A11: ‘If you don’t want to do something, don’t do it’. And I ask myself that every time I have to make a decision, and that’s anything from not being in the mood to go and see a friend, to accepting gigs. Knowing that you have a control of your life can really make you happier.

Q12: What is currently on your playlist?

A12: Some of the stuff I’m obsessed with at the moment is Cristi Cons new EP ‘Perceptual’ (MEANDER 21) He’s massively outdone himself on this one. Also, feeder sound 101 mixed by Mihai Pol – This mix is about 7 months old now but it hasn’t left my playlist.

In terms of particular tracks Uchitoshi – Hinode or Giuliano Lomonte – Japanese Espionage has to be a winner for me atm. Although I’m also enjoying Kraviz’s new track ‘You are wrong’. Ughh… There is just too much good stuff coming out atm! Anything with great trippy vocals and a nice groove will do the job!

Q13: If you could have a song to be the soundtrack to your life what would it be and why?

A13: ‘

This is probably the hardest question anyone has ever asked me! It would probably be something released on [a:rpia:r], Pressure traxx or Mosaic (my three favorite labels)

However, I will never forget the day I heard Ricardo Villalobos- Everywhere you go. The mood of this track swings from excessively high or euphoric to very dramatic, sad and hopeless and then back again with periods of neutral mood in between. Sometimes in life, a person can experience both of these moods all at the same time. I feel like this track would definitely be the soundtrack to my life, as it often reflects my mood.

Q14: What are your biggest dreams? and what are your biggest fears?

Organize/DJ a festival in Hawaii and fly all my friends over. Do a massive b2b2b2b with favorite DJs & Producers. Party for twenty-something-hours. Biggest fear? Having no family or friends to support me in accomplishing those dreams.

CNV00003

Q15: What is next for you/your plans for the next year?

A15: And that’s a good question! It is crazy thinking about what the next year will bring, considering I have only been DJing for a year and a bit. I’m Djing at Farr Festival this summer taking over the main stage with the ITT crew. I had to be very selective with gigs over the summer as I’m attending a lot of festivals as a listener this year – it’s always good to sometimes be on the other side of the stage, you know? I don’t really do that much often anymore. I’m also working at Houghton Festival, which I’m sure will probably open a few doors for me. I have also started working with KATO management and we have got a couple of exciting things in place. Other than that, few guest radio shows few guest mixes. I’m also doing an interview with Soundcloud and DJing a *secret* Soundcloud house party in Bristol. So yeah, a lot of stuff in place, now just to be patient!

Q16: What would your advice to be to those out there who want to live out their dreams? 

A16: Just be yourself. No more or less to that. Be unique and original and don’t compare yourself to other people.  Lady Jill Scott who was once performing after Erykah Budu got asked whether she was nervous in an interview before going on the stage. She replied with the following : ‘’ Have you ever seen me perform? We all have our own thing — that’s the magic– and everybody comes with their own sense of strength, and their own queendom. Mine could never compare to hers, and hers could never compare to mine”.  This has stuck in my head and followed me throughout my career.

Q17: Lastly, for those who don’t know where can people follow your career?

To find out more about what I’m doing at the moment and to stay up to date with my gigs and releases, you can follow me on SoundCloud on soundcloud.com/Eksish or you can like my Facebook page facebook.com/eksish/.

I have recently signed with KATO management too and the website is now live – this is probably the best way to catch up in terms of recent mixes etc. You can find it here: http://katomanagement.com/ap-eksish

Instagram is also a good way to go, as I believe a picture is worth a thousand words!

 

Leave a Reply

