Interviews

Ryan Lawrie // If you can see it in your mind then it is achievable.

Q1: If you had the opportunity to get an inspiring message across to a lot of people, what would your message be?

A1: If I had the opportunity to get an inspiring message across it would be, never give up. Always stay focused and determined. Great things take time and patience. If you can see it in your mind then it is achievable.

Q2: How did you get started with your music? And if you weren’t an artist/musician what would you want to be doing?

A2: I got started in music from the moment I was born. Listening and dancing to Michael Jackson and reading poetry at school. I was always the sporty boy playing football etc. Then one day, music just took the lead. I think If I wasn’t doing music, it would still be something very creative.

Q3: What or who keeps you motivated and inspires you?

A3: The people who keep me motivated & inspired are the successful people from all different industries. From Anthony Joshua going from a pretty rough background to world champion. It shows hard work and belief can change your world. Ed Sheeran, another amazing example of hard work and determination. I am mostly motivated by myself. No one believes in me as much as me. I am driven to achieve because I want too.

Q4: What is the most memorable experience of your life/career so far? And what have you learned from it?

A4: My most memorable experience is, I would have to say, performing at Wembley Stadium at The Summertime Ball 2016 is a massive highlight of my career so far, and also coming 6th on The X Factor. Those opportunities have helped me grow and pinpoint exactly what I want.

Q5: Would you go back and change anything in your journey so far? (If no, why)

A5: I would not go back and change anything in my journey so far. I am a strong believer in fate. I believe everything happens for a reason & you have a chosen path that plays out. The best way to live life is with no regrets.

Q6: In the next two years what do you ASPIRE to have done?

A6: I have many goals I have set myself for the next 2 years. I would love to write for a list of artists. I would love to get to a level where I can be nominated for awards. In the next 2 years, I just want to have a very solid career.

Q7: How much of your life and background have influenced you to become a songwriter/musician?

A7: All my life has been influencing me to become a musician. I have been working on nothing else for the past 6 years. Music has literally taken over my life and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Q8: What lyrics mean the most to you and why (ones you have written and or ones you didn’t write)

A8: Lyrics that mean the most to me would be ‘Colour me in, let’s paint such a perfect life. Draw on my skin, the colors that keep us bright. We will come close to the edge but we’ll stay between the lines. Color me in, let’s paint such a perfect life’. This represents not just my own relationship but any happy relationship in general. Sometimes it can get rough but you realize just how perfect you are together.

Q9: If you could collaborate with anyone who would to it be and why?

A9: I would love to work with so many people. Sia is incredible, I would love to write with her. Ryan Tedder is another amazing writer I would love to work with. Max Martin again, amazing! The list could go on forever.

Q10: What is the most inspiring message you have internalized in life so far?

A10: The most inspiring message I’ve ever heard is simple and sweet. If you want something so bad, you can’t sleep because your mind can’t stop thinking about it, never give up on it. Never quit. Everything in life is doable if you set your mind to it.

Q11: What is your motto in life/what do you live by?

A11: My motto in life is, be happy. Aim to better yourself every day. Life is so short so work hard to better yourself. Be the best person you can be. Success for me, Is living a life full of happiness and love.

Q12: What is currently on your playlist?

A12: Currently on my playlist is Andreas Moe. A singer-songwriter I have been a massive fan of for a while now. The likes of Hunter Hayes to Florida Georgia Line, to The 1975 to Stormzy. Justin Bieber to The Rolling Stones. I have a massive collection in music. I really like Harry Styles new album also.

Q13: If you could have a song to be the soundtrack to your life what would it be and why?

A13: I feel the soundtrack to my life would differ every day. Depending on what mood I am in. Today the sun is shining and I feel good so probably something like Mr Blue Sky by E.L.O.

Q14: What are your biggest dreams? and what are your biggest fears

A14: I am terrified of SPIDERS. They are the scariest things ever to walk the planet. I would say my biggest dream is to travel the world and be able to work for the rest of my life in a job I am happy with. That being music.

Q15: What is next for you/your plans for the next year?

A15: My plans for the next year are to write as many songs as possible. To work harder than anyone else in the industry and achieve what I set out too.

Q16: What would your advice to be to those out there who want to live out their dreams?

A16: My advice is work the hardest you can. Think of how many people out there want the same as you. You have to do one better than them. You have to write, practice, perform constantly. Most of all, never give up.

Q17: Lastly, for those who don’t know where can people follow your career?

A17: People can follow my journey on Twitter – @_ryanlawrie facebook – @officialryanlawrie and Instagram – @ryanlawriemusic

Leave a Reply

