Interviews

Aston Merrygold // Someone’s gotta do it so why can’t it be you? Get it.

Exclusive interview with the multi-talented Aston Merrygold former member of Mobo Award and Brit Award winning boy-band JLS.

Q1: If you had the opportunity to get a inspiring message across to a large amount of people, what would your message be? 

A1: I think it would have to be we live in a world where we rely on likes and approval but some of the greatest things ever created were done by people that were told they were crazy so be different be crazy be weird be who ever the hell you want to be.. just be cool with it.

Q2: How did you get started with your music? And if you weren’t an artist/musician what would you want to be doing? 

A2: I always loved music but didn’t start a proper love for it until my teenage years. It was just a decision to go down the route of music/entertainment or sport and the choice became simple really. If I did have to do something else, away from entertainment as a whole… I think it would of had to of been down the sporting route.

Q3: What or who keeps you motivated and inspires you?

A3: I keep me motivated. As there are so many people/things I want to be able to take care of in my life. nobody is going to push me harder than I can. In terms of inspiration. that’s a feeling that just hits me out of nowhere at times. A family member bringing up memories, someone in your team winning, or a total stranger doing a good deed. Inspiration from everywhere.

Q4: What is the most memorable experience of your life/career so far? And what have you learned from it?

A4: For me performing with the Jackson family was one of the biggest honors. To get to perform at a tribute concert for who I think is the greatest entertainer of all time, with his family was a moment dreams are seriously made of. A handful of people can say they’ve done that, but I’m one of four who got to do it specifically for Michael. Crazy!!

Q5: Would you go back and change anything in your journey so far? (If no, why)

A5: Not a thing! I wouldn’t be the person I am today if I did.

Q6: In the next two years what do you ASPIRE to have done?

A6: It seems like two years can just fly by these days. But in the next two years having Aston Merrygold as a household name is the aim, goal, and mission.

Q7: How much of your life and background have influenced you to become a songwriter/musician?

A7: A bit but not a lot. My family is one who loves a party, loves music, loves a good time and vibe. But In terms of a career that’s helped the entertainer in me. The songwriting is something I’ve had to work hard at, had to learn and continue to learn every session I’m in now.

Q8: What lyrics mean the most to you and why (ones you have written and or ones you didn’t write) 

A8: ‘I’ll take the heartache, I’ll take the sadness, I’ll take it all and write those tears away. You were the heartbeat. Heavens so lucky, your not just the Lady on my sleeve’

This is a song called ‘Lady On My Sleeve’ and it’s about a close childhood friend who passed a few years ago. That was a hard song to put in words but I did and might sound weird but I felt a bit of a weight lifted off my shoulders as I didn’t really talk about it. I just tried to be the rock for my friends/family at the time. And as soon as I finished writing it I took myself off had a tear and one of her favorite drinks.

Q9: If you could collaborate with anyone who would to it be and why?

A9: Right now it has to be Justin Timberlake. He was the first concert I ever saw and everything just clicked. I feel like I’ve learned a lot from him without even knowing him ha! That collab would be madness. So Mr Timberlake when you’re ready sir…..

Q10: What is the most inspiring message you have internalized in life so far?

A10: Seal once told myself and the JLS boys.. “please just enjoy work hard but enjoy working hard. Don’t let life just pass you by and take for granted.. nobody will understand but you so take it in and enjoy” And believe me.. every moment is fully enjoyed.

Q11: What is your motto in life/what do you live by?

A:11 Perfection is a preference. Basically, whatever you do or want to do you can’t please everyone, so do you, because you do you the best.

Q12: What is currently on your playlist?

A12: Big Sean, Tory Lanez, Mic Lowry, Drake, Kehlani, Chris Brown, Partynextdoor, Stormzy, Omarion, Bruno Mars. Travis Garland, Eric Bellenger, Elijah Blake

Q13: If you could have a song to be the soundtrack to your life what would it be and why?

A13: Just one? Boooy! Maybe ‘Can’t Stop The Feeling’ by JT.

Does what it says one the tin.

Q14: What are your biggest dreams? and what are your biggest fears?

A14: Biggest dreams are touring the world and hitting every city out there with new music constantly. Fears are me falling out of love with what I do.

Q15: What is next for you/your plans for the next year?

A15: The next move is new music, new shows, new countries, new people, new memories. Also, I’ve just finished my first movie so you’ll hear more about that as the year goes on.

Q16: What would your advice be to those out there who want to live out their dreams? 

A16: Someone’s gotta do it so why can’t it be you? Get it.

Q17: Lastly, for those who don’t know where can people follow your career? 

A17: This day and age it’s all about those handles @astonmerrygold

Spotify, Apple Music, Shazam, Instagram, Twitter, Facebook the lot!

 

Leave a Reply

