Interviews

Jeremy Loops // The skillful warrior stirs and is not stirred.

Exclusive interview with modern folk musician from Cape Town Jeremy Loops.

Q1: If you had the opportunity to get an inspiring message across to a lot of people, what would your message be? 

A1: Hmm, that’s a tough question. My inspiring message would probably be ‘you can do whatever you want to do, and no matter what feedback systems tell you, people are inherently good and can do good. The evils the world faces today seem insurmountable, and maybe they are, but that isn’t reason enough for those who mean well to do well.’

Q2: How did you get started with your music? And if you weren’t an artist/musician what would you want to be doing?

A2: If I wasn’t a musician, I’d probably be a photographer. I got my start in music at university when I first began playing guitar to escape studying financial maths for my degree. At some point, I just fell in love with music and with songwriting and I’ve played and written songs ever since. At some point, you go from being pretty terrible to being competent to being good, and few things are more rewarding than music in seeing that personal development.

Q2B: When pursuing your dreams how do you deal with those closed doors and obstacles that arise and not let them get in your way?

A2B: I look at closed doors and obstacles as opportunities to find creative solutions to my problems. Every day there are a million little obstacles, but as I see them as just that – little obstacles – I also work towards a million little victories. So this way I never focus on a huge problem as being something insurmountable, but rather a collection of many small problems that can, in fact, be tackled.

Q2C: What is the best thing about living your dreams?

A2C: The best thing about living my dreams, so to speak, is that I’ve proven to myself one can really do what they want to do, even if everyone and everything around them tells them otherwise. I don’t tell kids ‘chase your dreams, you’re all powerful.’ because that’s crazy and dangerous, but I do get to tell them ‘try’, because that’s believable. There’s no living a dream if you don’t even have the courage to try.

Q3: What or who keeps you motivated and inspires you?

A3: My family inspires me more than anyone else, really.

Q4: What song lyric means the most to you and why?

A4: Too many to pick one from.

Q5: What is the most memorable experience of your life/career so far? And what have you learned from it?

A5: Hard to say what the most memorable experience has been, but the most significant, I believe, is sailing around the world while working on a super yacht. It is here where I honed my craft as a musician, but it also exposed me to an obscene level of wealth that has zero regards for how the rest of the world, especially the poorest of the poor live. Those experiences informed so much on my worldview and the kind of person I want to be and the kind of impact I want to make.

Q6: Would you go back and change anything in your journey so far? (If no, why)

A6: No. What has come to pass informs what will be? To change something in my past is to inevitably change my present and my future, and I’m very comfortable with the challenges I have as well as the opportunities I have today.

 

Q7: How much of your life and background have influenced you to become a songwriter/musician?

A7: I grew up in a household where music was playing all the time. My parents were very supportive of all my artistic and creative interests, even if they were at the expense of excelling at more academic fields. If it wasn’t for that environment, I’m not sure if I would have been bold enough to give music a serious go.

Q8: If you could collaborate with anyone who would to it be and why?

A8: I love Andrew Bird’s music. Would love to work with him.

Q9: What is your motto in life/what do you live by?

A9: The skillful warrior stirs and is not stirred. – Sun Tzu

 

Q10 What would your advice be to those out there who want to live out their dreams?

A10: I would advise anyone who has a dream to try for it, at the very least. You’ll never know if you don’t try. Don’t quit your day jobs too soon, though. It’s of no value to

Q11: Lastly, for those who don’t know where can people follow your career?
A11: On Instagram, Twitter, and Periscope, it’s just @jermeyloops. You can also look for Jeremy Loops on Facebook. My snap chat handle is ‘jeremyloops’. And my website is simply jeremyloops.com

 

Leave a Reply

