Interviews

Richard Rawson ‘Fazer’ // Stress is make belief, you create your own stress through the power of your thoughts

ATIMAGAZINE caught up with Richard Rawson also known as Fazer from former MOBO Award Winning Trio N-dubz.

Q1: If you had the opportunity to get a inspiring message across to a large amount of people, what would your message be?

A1: Stress is make belief, you create your own stress through the power of your thoughts. Make everyday count and replace negativity with positive thoughts and you’ll never be stressed.

Q2: How did you get started with your music? And if you weren’t an artist/musician what would you want to be doing?

A2: I grew up in a musical household, my mum listened to a lot of Motown music, Aretha Franklin, Chuck Berry and stuff like that, who died yesterday, rest in peace. I grew up in a musical household, my dad plays blues harmonica, my mum plays drums and stuff like that and I always wanted to get into music, kind of got into sort of Mc’ing at school and then starting getting into the studio when I was in school and then never looked back really. Just lived in studios my whole life now.

Q3: What or who keeps you motivated and inspires you?

A3: The thing that keeps me motivated and inspires me, number one first and foremost is God, secondly and most importantly is my daughter, my four year old daughter, she inspires me so much, like how creative she is, it just makes me want to do better in my career.

Q4: What is your life Motto?

A4: One of my life’s mottos is too not trust everybody because not everyone has your best interests at heart, so trust your instinct a bit more.

Q5: What is the most memorable experience of your life/career so far? And what have you learnt from it?

A5: Of my career it would be selling out the 02 Arena, on our Arena tour, which the full thing was sold out, but because it was London and it was the 02 Arena, it was very memorable, it was like epic time in our life, so yeah selling out the 02 Arena was like a very memorable thing happened in my life, I’m telling you.

What I learnt from selling out the 02, it just goes to show, that if you have a dream and you know exactly what you want and your determined to get that, anything is possible because we always dreamed of selling out somewhere like Wembley Arena or the 02 Arena and we made that dream a reality, do you understand.

In my life, it would be seeing the birth of my daughter, that was crazy.

Q6: Would you go back and change anything in your journey so far? (If no, why)

A6: If someone asked me would I go back and change anything, I wouldn’t say no to be honest with you, because I wouldn’t of learnt the things I learnt along the way, I wouldn’t be the person I am today and the growth I’ve gone through in my life, I would of never experienced had things been different. So I will always stand by what I say and wouldn’t change anything, like I would go back and do it all exactly the same.

Q7: In the next two years what do you ASPIRE to have done?

A7: In the next two years, I aspire to have made a household name for myself as a a solo artist and producer as Fazer. Also to…… epic group N-Dubz to come back and do that the second time round.

Q8: How much of your life and background have influenced you to become a songwriter/musician?

 

Q9: What lyrics mean the most to you and why (ones you have written and or ones you didn’t write)

A9: Basically there’s a guy, he’s a Jamaican artist, you may of heard of him, you may not of heard of him, he sings a song called True Friends and the lyric is You Can See A Mans Face but You Can’t See His Heart. That for me is, in my life, I always got to put on put on a smile for everybody, “hey, yeah” I might go out and have had a crap morning or somethings happened in my house-hold or something like that, and I’m not in the best of moods but I go out and there’s people like Hey Fazer Lovely too met you, Can we get a picture” and you gotta smile and be here, it’s one of those lyrics that stuck with me to the point, I got it tattooed on my skin, so yeah You Can See A Mans Face but You Can’t See His Heart, which is monumental song for me. It’s amazing.

Q10: If you could collaborate with anyone who would to it be and why?

A10: I’d love to collaborate with anyone it would be Pharrell Williams or Kayne West, reason why is because I think, for me, there my peers, there the people that inspire me to do what I do, in the way I do it, I don’t just make hip-hop music, I don’t just make trap, ring ring trap, bang bang, gang gang, I don’t do that, that’s not what I do, I make music for the masses, people like Kayne West and Pharrell Williams they make music for the masses, and people like that inspire me, I feel like we have the same outlook in life, to be able to give great music to the masses and to artists, and to just make artists careers, it’s a very unselfish thing.

Q11: What is most inspiring message you have internalised in life so far?

A11: The biggest thing that’s stuck with me throughout my life along the way is I went through a spiritually enlightening moment a few years back where I actually found myself as a person, as a soul as a spirit, and not just a carcus that everyone sees on the outside. I think what’s stayed with me is learning to by myself, obviously doing this spirit and soul searching, that really opened my eyes to life and what lifes really about, so be yourself, don’t worry about what anyone else thinks, because anyones going to have a judgement anyway, you just gotta know alright cool, were all the same, we all different, we all have different opnions.

Q12: What is your motto in life/what do you live by?

Do onto others, as you have them do onto you, that’s me, I always treat people with a great amount of respect and humbleness when I meet them and if I don’t receive the same back then they will just receive what they are giving out.

Q13: What is currently on your playlist?

A13: Right now, on my Spotify play-list I was listening day to day, he’s an Alanta singer/rapper that I was listening too this morning . Prior to that I was listening to a Boogie with a Hoodie and then prior to that I was listening to Madonna how about that, living on a prayer and that. Fantastic.

Q14: If you could have a song to be the soundtrack to your life what would it be and why?

A14: A soundtrack to my life, basically I tell you what it is, I got a song coming out in about a months time yeah it’s called “Money Right” and it’s basically my song of my life, that’s the anthem of my life because it’s about my life. So it’s called Money Right and it’s by myself Fazer, everyone will hear it in a couple of months, fingers crossed it does the right damage. To could be the summer anthem this year, I’m telling you, because the universe has been blessing a brother different.

Q15: What are your biggest dreams? and what are your biggest fears?

A15 My biggest dream is too get to a point in my life where I can just sit and take holidays with my family, enjoy life and get too see the word.

My biggest I don’t have no fears, I don’t fear anything in life, I use too fear a lot of things, but when I found spiritual enlightenment and I found myself fear disappeared for me, so fear anything, everything is meant to be, what’s meant to be, not even death, life too short.

Q16: What is next for you/your plans for the next year?

Next for me, is obviously releasing a whole heap of solo music this year, I’ve been building my production company for the last couple of years, we’ve signed a few of artist now, one of them’s doing really well, she’s going viral and stuff like that on socials, It’s picking up a lot of momentum. Just building a fully fledged record label/production house and really striving with that, moving forward, building careers, for artists that we sign, artists, producers and stuff like that. Building a powerhouse, is my main aspiration for the next couple years, making sure, I have a team around me, that I always know, if anybody comes to us your going to get a hit record.

Q17: What would your advice to be to those out there who want to live out there dreams?

A17: Advice to those that want to live out there dreams, know exactly 100% what your dream is and what you want, if you don’t know what you want then your never going too achieve it, you can slight know what you want but it’s always going to be blurred, always 100% within you know what it is you want to achieve and then take the risk, go for it, like theres no stopping you, who ever said your not going to be able to do that fuck them, just go and do you, my biggest quota of inspiration I can give to people, know exactly what you want in life and by any means necessary go for it.

Q18: Lastly, for those who don’t know where can people follow your career?

You can check out my socials online @iamfazer @imrichardrawson

Leave a Reply

