Interviews

Vas Leon // Spoke exclusively to ATI about his rise to success and his plans for the future.

ATI spoke exclusively with artist Vas Leon.

Q1: If you had the opportunity to get an inspiring message across to a lot of people, what would your message be? 

Oooo this is a very hard one. I have a LOT of positive messages to send to people, as you can tell I try and tweet a quote every day haha. Erm…

Don’t let anyone tell you what you can or cannot do, continue to do you and what you enjoy doing to make you happy; if you do what you love, you’ll never work a day in your life.

That’s something I’ve had to learn, and that’s something I want people to get. We are all going through stuff and I want people to know they’re not alone so if they do what makes them happy, they’ll realize that people are with them on that journey.

Q2: How did you get started with your music? And if you weren’t an artist/musician what would you want to be doing? 

That’s crazy, I really could not imagine doing anything else. I guess since I started music I really didn’t want to do anything else and now it’s fully embedded into me.

I’ve known music all my life especially since I learned to play my first instruments. In regard to my career, I started it as a release and a project for myself, a hobby, back in 2009 or 2010. I only started taking it a bit more seriously in 2011, and after experiencing a lot of changes and craziness I started putting it in full force from 2014 and the name change in 2015.

Q3: What or who keeps you motivated and inspires you?

My mother motivates me. She inspires me. Such an amazing woman. My father motivates me. Such a hard worker. My whole family in general. Especially as my main goal is so that my family now and my future family in years to come will never have to struggle in the slightest ever again. I want my future children, children’s children, and so on to be sorted. ‘Stunting’ and spending money on unnecessary things, doing it for the gram and all of that, is not important to me. Materialistic things and expensive tangible things hold very little importance to me. It would be nice but they don’t motivate me. Positivity inspires me. People like NWurd inspire me. He’s so talented and such a perfectionist. He taught me to think in the way I do now. Do what I feel like doing and make great music for myself, especially when I am my biggest critic haha. Michael Jackson inspired me. He was also a perfectionist. The people that inspire me are the close ones beside me. The people who have stuck with me from the beginning. Positivity!

Q4: What is the most memorable experience of your life/career so far? And what have you learned from it?

My most memorable experience of my life/career so far…

I’ve quite a few, but one was supporting Fatboy Slim at the o2 in Brixton. That was so crazy, and hearing a certain track that me and NWurd worked hard on… & everyone go nuts… Mannnnnnn. I can’t explain the emotions! Was so awesome! I realized yes, this is what I want to do every night! Performing to thousands, sold out shows. From THAT I learned, I should make what I feel like making and they will listen. Also to make them listen no matter what, and to work hard so I can get to that place I’ve always wanted to be at when I was moonwalking as a little one haha.

Q5: Would you go back and change anything in your journey so far? (If no, why)

Would I go back and change anything in my journey so far…Nope! Or I wouldn’t be in this interview. Haha. I wouldn’t change anything because if I did I’m sure certain things wouldn’t have happened. It’s all a learning curve so I won’t make the same mistakes, and they’re only called mistakes if you learn from them. The only thing I would change are things that are not on my part, level of recognition. Otherwise yeah, thinking about it there’s nothing I would change.

Q6: In the next two years what do you ASPIRE to have done?

In the next two years I ASPIRE to reach an influential level such as Kanye West, but with a completely different message. To spread nothing but positivity, and to be a household name. All this is to reach one of my goals which is to turn having a dominance in music into something that will benefit my family forever.

Q7: How much of your life and background have influenced you to become a songwriter/musician?

Everything. All of it. Every single little thing. Because what I say in my songs… truth. Facts. Watching MJ when I was young. That definitely influenced me to be a performer and to put my all into it. Learning musical instruments helped me with producing the tracks and the melodies I create within them and vocal wise.

Personal things I went through drove me to use an outlet and that was done in a positive way because of my upbringing. And what I tell in my music… is because of my experiences. So everything!

Q8: What lyrics mean the most to you and why (ones you have written and or ones you didn’t write) 

Lyrics that mean the most to me…

Okay I’ll do the first that comes to mind.

Ones that I didn’t write… “If you want to make the world a better place, take a look at yourself and make a change”.

Ones that I did write… “When you’re at the KrossRoads do whatever it is you love, it will relieve your soul… Veezie!”

Q9: If you could collaborate with anyone who would to it be and why?

If I could collaborate with anyone who would it be and why…

See I have two strong vocalists and two awesome rappers I’d love to work with but they’re no longer here with us. Should I say them too?

MJ, of course, haha, and Amy Winehouse. Amazing vocalists. Tupac and Left Eye, because the way they told their stories and their execution of them. So dope!

But alive, Ed Sheeran… he’s actually one I’d love to make an EP or something with. I think if we made music together we would connect in the studio on a different vibe. Adele as well. Her vocal range is so crazy, and then we definitely cannot leave out Stevie Wonder or Damien Marley, their distinctive voices are out of this world. I’d love to work with Nas, J.Cole and Kanye as rappers, those would be dope collaborations. See there are a few more but those are top of the list at the moment.

Q10: What is the most inspiring message you have internalized in life so far?

What is the most inspiring message I have internalized in life so far…

I don’t have just one. I have so many. Messages that my mother and NWurd told me always influence me, and push me to strive for perfection and to never settle, to be happy.

Q11: What is your motto in life/what do you live by?

My motto in life/what I live by…

Stay positive, and do what makes you happy. Yeah, that really. Because life is short, so enjoy your time on this earth.

Q12: What is currently on your playlist?

I’ve kind of been listening to the joint I made in the studio the other day on repeat. I’m actually in love with that one right now haha. But other than that I’ve just been going into old albums I bought years ago. Eminem, Boyz II Men, Jahiem, MJ, Kanye, Jagged Edge, Donnell Jones, Dru Hill, Ginuwine, Gym Class Heroes… That’s all I can think of really that I’ve listened to in the last month.

Q13: If you could have a song to be the soundtrack to your life what would it be and why?

That is one question I cannot answer correctly. It will change every day. Yesterday it was “Leave Me Alone” by Michael Jackson because that tune is just mad. Today It’s probably Speed Demon by MJ haha. So I actually don’t have one. But maybe If I had no choice to choose one… to be fair it would probably be my track “My Life”. It teaches me what I want and to never give up no matter what.

Q14: What are your biggest dreams? and what are your biggest fears?

Biggest fear is easy. Not achieving the goals I set out for myself. I want my work to be legendary and to speak volumes to everyone. I’ve a plan to build something that will last forever. Well,… some THINGS that will. Making music with the people I said earlier is a big dream, as well as sorting out my family and my future family for life. Everyone happy and comfortable never having to struggle. Spreading peace and love without submission. I have so many dreams but it all can be done with me achieving what I want to with music. So getting to a very high point in music is the biggest dream to facilitate the other dreams.

Q15: What is next for you/your plans for the next year?

World Domination! Haha. I said that with the pinky and the brain theme tune in my head haha. I have some big projects in the pipeline. Singles, releasing something every month. Getting to where I plan to be. I’m very determined and very sure I’ll get there and continuing to strive for more. Aim for perfection, and settle for excellence.

Q16: What would your advice be to those out there who want to live out their dreams? 

My advice to those who want to live out their dreams…

Don’t give up, no matter what anyone tries to tell you. The moment you give up you may regret it because you’ll be thinking “what if”… and at that point, you could’ve got there!

Q17: Lastly, for those who don’t know where can people follow your career? 

Where you can find me… vasmusic.com is the base! I’m very very active on twitter which is @thisisvasleon, and my Facebook always has all my videos on, which is also thisisvasleon. Spotify will always be updated with tracks, and my Instagram is the same as my twitter! Can’t forget Sound Cloud which is just my name VAS LEON.

Thank you so much for the interview. It really means a lot to have your support and to know that you’re interested in knowing these things about me.!!

Leave a Reply

