Interviews

Jake Miller // Stop and enjoy the moment. You only live once, don’t let it pass you by.

ATIMAGAZINE spoke with the incredibly talented Jake Miller. Get inspired and read our interview with him below.

Q1: If you had the opportunity to get an inspiring message across to a lot of people, what would your message be?

A1: Spread positively in any way you know how. Whether is through music, art, dance, etc. Do something that will not only make you a happier person but will make the world a happier place.

Q2: How did you get started with your music? And if you weren’t an artist/musician what would you want to be doing?

Q2: I started playing music in high school as a joke. As I began to make more and more song, I became more and more serious about it. Before I knew it, my whole high school knew me as that kid trying to make it in the music industry. If I didn’t get into music, I have no idea where I’d be. I was never passionate about anything except music.

Q3: What or who keeps you motivated and inspires you?

A3: My fans inspire and motive me more than anyone. Also my friends and family. I’m surrounded by amazingly supportive people.

Q4: What is the most memorable experience of your life/career so far? And what have you learned from it?

A4: I got to perform in my hometown arena, the arena I grew up going to my whole life. I learned that there is no limits or ceilings to how far you can go. Even the biggest arenas are possible to play in.

Q5: Would you go back and change anything in your journey so far? (If no, why)

A5: Absolutely not, I learn from my mistakes so I’m thankful for them.

Q6: In the next two years what do you ASPIRE to have done?

A6: I want to have a song that goes platinum, I want to perform in Madison Square Garden, and I want to keep making songs, playing shows, and putting smiles on my fans faces.

Q7: How much of your life and background have influenced you to become a songwriter/musician?

A7: Growing up, my whole family was into music. My dad was in a band, my mom was an amazing singer, and my sister was an amazing dancer. Some music has been in my blood for as long as I can remember.

Q8: What lyrics mean the most to you and why (ones you have written and or ones you didn’t write) 

A8: Almost every lyric in the song stop this train by John Mayer really hits me hard. The whole song is about not wanting to grow up, not wanting your parents to grow up, and wishing that time didn’t go by so fast. It really inspires me to stop and enjoy the moment sometimes.

Q9: If you could collaborate with anyone who would to it be and why?

A9: It would either be John Mayer or Drake because they have really gotten me through some tough times by listening to the music and I will always remember that.

Q10: What is the most inspiring message you have internalized in life so far?

A10″ I have learned that nobody is going to work harder towards making your dream come true than you. Don’t rely on anybody except yourself. Believe in yourself and be the captain of your ship. If you are passionate and believe in yourself, that’s all you need.

Q11: What is your motto in life/what do you live by?

A11: Stop and enjoy the moment. You only live once, don’t let it pass you by.

Q12: What is currently on your playlist?

A12: The new Drake album is on repeat

Q13: If you could have a song to be the soundtrack to your life what would it be and why?

A13: If I’m feeling emotional, Stop This Train by John Mayer. If I’m feeling hyped up, Trophies by Drake.

Q14: What are your biggest dreams? and what are your biggest fears?

A14: My biggest dream is to just continue doing what I’m doing. I travel the world playing music with my best friends. If I can continue to do that, and grow as an artist at the same time, I am perfectly happy. My biggest fear is losing somebody close to me.

Q15: What is next for you/your plans for the next year?

A15: I have currently just finished a 17 city European tour. Now I am back we are planning the United States summer tour. In the meanwhile, I will be releasing a lot of self-written and self-produced music, including my album 2am in LA which is out now.

Q16: What would your advice be to those out there who want to live out their dreams? 

A16: Never stop believing in yourself. If you start to get a lot of hate, that’s a good thing. People only hate when they are jealous. The more hate you get, the better you’re probably doing. Just put yourself in a bubble, tune out all the noise in the world, and focus on your goals.

Q17: Lastly, for those who don’t know where can people follow your career? 

Follow me on Instagram and Twitter at @jakemiller and on Snapchat at @jmillermusic!

Leave a Reply

