Interviews

David Coslett // We all have flaws and insecurities but don’t try and be somebody you’re not. 

Q1: If you had the opportunity to get an inspiring message across to a lot of people, what would your message be? 

A1. Just be who you are, don’t try and be somebody else. Yes, we all have flaws and insecurities but don’t try and be somebody you’re not.

Q2: How did you get started with your music? And if you weren’t an artist/musician what would you want to be doing?
A2. My family is very musical, I started doing music at a young age learning the violin and grew from there. If I wasn’t a musician I’d probably be doing something with people, I’m a very people person so working alongside others, helping at events etc things like that probably.
Q3: When pursuing your dreams how do you deal with those closed doors and obstacles that arise and not let them get in your way? 
A3. It’s difficult! Don’t let anyone tell you it’s easy to overcome the obstacles because it’s not. You just have to pick yourself up and try again, this industry is all about consistency and commitment if you do those 2 things you will continue to improve.
Q4: What or who keeps you motivated and inspires you? 
A4: So a lot of artists inspire me, Chris Martin from Coldplay I think is a brilliant songwriter, I look up to him and Gavin Degraw a lot.
Q5: What is the most memorable experience of your life/career so far? And what have you learned from it?
A5. The most memorable experience so far is probably playing in front of 6000 young people at Scoutabout, having that many people sing your songs back to you is crazy and absolutely amazing.
Q5: Would you go back and change anything in your journey so far? (If no, why)
A5. I wouldn’t change anything simply because it’s made me the person I am today, all the failures and success’s, all the people I’ve met, the places I’ve been. It’s all been a journey.
Q6: In the next two years what do you ASPIRE to have done?
A6. 2 years… Woah okay, that’s a long time. I would love to release a debut album, that would be pretty cool. But honestly, just continuing to make music and go on tour and being happy with the life I’m living would be all I ask.
Q7: How much of your life and background have influenced you to become a songwriter/musician?
A7. Most of my life has influenced me becoming a songwriter, just because of various situations that have happened when growing up. My music taste changed over the years, I started writing songs at age 12 and this developed into a passion. I used lyric writing as a way to get my emotions out and say how I felt at that time.
Q8: What lyrics mean the most to you and why (ones you have written and or ones you didn’t write) 
A8. THat’s a tough question, but there is a lyric in a new song I’ve written, soon to be released called ‘Harder to Believe’. It talks about the struggle of life and choosing the path to follow. ‘I’m wishing on a day when I don’t have to say what I gotta do, what I wanna do’ basically just being able to live my dream of being a successful artist.
Q9: If you could collaborate with anyone who would to it be and why?
A9. So I would love to write with a guy called Ross Copperman, he’s not very well known, but his songs inspired me when I first started writing and I remember being like 15 saying ‘I want to write songs like that’. So he would be the man! He has such an incredible talent!

Q10: What is the most inspiring message you have internalized in life so far?

A10. Building relationships and being friends with as many people as possible, showing that you care about the individual is important.

Q11: What is your motto in life/what do you live by?

A11. I don’t really have a motto haha! I just try and be the best I can be, yes I’m not perfect, sometimes I fail and make mistakes but I never give up.

Q12: What is currently on your playlist?

A12. Currently the new Japanese house tracks, Astrid S, Oh Wonder, Chain Smokers and Calvin Harris I’m loving at the moment.

Q13: If you could have a song to be the soundtrack to your life what would it be and why?

A13. I have no idea!! Haha! That is a really tricky question because there is SO many good songs. But you need a song that is going to describe your life, the ups and downs, all the special and heartbreaking moments, it’s a really hard question. I’ll have to have a think!

Q14: What are your biggest dreams? and what are your biggest fears?

A14. My biggest dream is just to be successful with my songwriting and as an artist. I wish for people to love my songs as much as I love writing them.
My biggest fear is probably just failing, I hated exams when I was young and so whenever I fail at anything it always is really hard. Especially if you’ve tried really hard to succeed at something and it’s not happened. That can hurt.

 

Q15: What is next for you/your plans for the next year?

A15. Lots of plans for next year, planning tours in Europe and UK. Nothing’s announced yet but I’d like to think it would be much the same as this year, new music, live shows and having loads of fun with friends!

Q16: What would your advice to be to those out there who want to live out there dreams?

A16. Just go and try it! No matter what it is. Try it! Do your research, find the best ways to start, what do you need to know or learn? Are there any quick tips or tricks you should know? Then just do it. If you don’t try now, you’ll never know.
Q17: Lastly, for those who don’t know where can people follow your career?
A17. So just search my name! David Coslett, Twitter and Instagram are @David_Coslett, Facebook and Youtube is just David Coslett.

Leave a Reply

