Interviews

Kerri Watt // The moments where I’ve truly been myself have been the times when people have connected with me the most.

Q1: If you had the opportunity to get an inspiring message across to a lot of people, what would your message be? 
A1. If I had the opportunity to get an inspiring message across to a lot of people, it would be that the relationships you have in your life are the most important thing you have. And the best way to keep good relationships with family, friends or lovers is through laughter! Always be silly and always be grateful. Both those things should help you find happiness and I really believe happiness is the key to living a great life. 
Q2: How did you get started with your music? And if you weren’t an artist/musician what would you want to be doing? 
A2. I got my start in music by going out and playing all the open mic nights in my hometown of Glasgow, Scotland. I’d only been playing guitar a couple of months and knew about 4 chords, but I’d written one or two songs and decided to go out to see firstly if people responded well and secondly if I liked doing it. I loved it! Those open mics turned into small gigs, small gigs turned into larger gigs and before I knew it I was touring the UK supporting big acts to 3000 people a night! If I wasn’t a musician, I’d probably live in a beach condo and own a taco shack in California. That’s still one of my dreams for later in life! 
Q3: What or who keeps you motivated and inspires you?
A3. My family really keep me motivated – they are all super active and ambitious. My parents come home from a full days work and go on ten-mile bike rides, my sister runs her own successful cafe in Glasgow and works 7 days a week and my little brother studies music at Berklee in Boston, USA – the best contemporary music school in the world. We have a family WhatsApp group and every day we’re all posting pictures and updates of what we’re up to. If I’m ever feeling like having a lazy day, I get a text from my dad to say he’s just climbed one of the Munroes in Scotland before 10 am and I’m like – better get something done! We all motivate each other. 
Q4: What is the most memorable experience of your life/career so far? And what have you learned from it?
4. The most memorable moment of my career so far is probably performing in the Birmingham Symphony Hall. At the time, it was the biggest crowd I’d ever played to. I remember playing my new single which was out at the time ‘Long Way Home’ – it’s very emotional and I was playing it acoustically, just me and the piano. The audience were incredible. You could’ve heard a pin drop during that song. I learned a lot on that tour about how to work an audience and get them on your side from the start. When you connect with them from the beginning, and then they give you that kind of respect where they don’t talk through your music, it’s a really magical feeling. 
Q5: Would you go back and change anything in your journey so far? (If no, why)
5. I wouldn’t go back and change anything in my journey so far. Every experience prepares you for the next and I’m constantly learning. I feel like my career has moved at a great pace. I’ve managed to have some incredible experiences and play some amazing shows but I’ve also been able to grow up in a normal setting. I think if I’d had success in my career really young, I’d have missed out on some of the personal experiences that have shaped me to be the person and songwriter I am today. 
Processed with VSCO with m6 preset
Q6: In the next two years what do you ASPIRE to have done?
A6. Looking ahead to the next two years, I’d love to travel much more with my music. There are people all around the world who listen to my songs and follow me – it would be amazing to reach some of those people who might never have a chance to come to the UK and see me play live. I’d also love to create a song for Scotland – something new and current that still feels patriotic. The kind of song people could sing at big sports games! 
Q7: How much of your life and background have influenced you to become a songwriter/musician?
7. My songwriting is almost entirely influenced by my own life and experiences. I left home at 16 years old and now more than 10 years later, I’ve lived in 3 different countries, moved house about 9 times and met so many people from all over the world. I’ve had good relationships, terrible relationships and lots of life experience living on the road while touring. Of course, I’m always listening to your conversations in line at the shops or on the train for a bit of inspiration! But ultimately, I’ll always relate it back to something I’ve been through so I’m really writing from the heart. I wrote my first song at 22 and found it was a great release for my emotions. 
Q8: What lyrics mean the most to you and why (ones you have written and or ones you didn’t write) 
8. My favorite lyrics that I’ve written were actually from a song I wrote about being anywhere in the world but always feeling a magnetic pull back to my roots. It’s kind of my love letter to Scotland.
The North in my veins 
You call my name 
With your fearless charm
Wild and untamed
Still, I’m safe
In your coat of arms
Q9: If you could collaborate with anyone who would to it be and why?
9. My dream collaboration would be Sheryl Crow. She’s been a huge inspiration to me as a songwriter, a performer, and a person. Her lyrics are so fun and clever and her stage presence is amazing. I saw her play live in California a few years ago and that was what really gave me the kick I needed to start trying to make things happen for me. Getting to write with her would be a dream come true! 

Q10: What is the most inspiring message you have internalized in life so far?

10. The most inspiring message I have internalized in life so far is to always challenge myself. Challenges and risks are always frightening but almost without fail, every time I’ve taken one, I have ended up a better person or in a better place because of it. You just have to take that leap! I started doing this thing a few years ago where I’d start my day with an icy cold shower. I felt like if I could overcome something as horrible as that first thing in the morning, I could do anything! 
Q11: What is your motto in life/what do you live by?
11. My motto in life is to always be grateful. I really believe gratitude brings all good things – happiness, love, and peace. These are the 3 things I strive most for in life. 
Q12: What is currently on your playlist?
12. I recently went on a songwriters trip to LA and met some incredible artists out there so they are top of my playlist right now! My favorite is a Nashville artist named Keelan Donovan. His latest single ‘Love Of Mine’ is my favorite wake up song right now! 
Q13: If you could have a song to be the soundtrack to your life what would it be and why?
13. If I could have one song as the soundtrack to my life it would definitely be ‘Listen to The Music’ by the Doobie Brothers. No matter what mood I’m in, this song always makes me feel sooo happy! I dance at every opportunity and have feel good music playing 24/7. 
Q14: What are your biggest dreams? and what are your biggest fears?
14. When I think about my biggest dreams in life – one main thing comes to mind… Playing to thousands of people on a big open air stage somewhere warm. The sun is setting, there’s a cool breeze and everyones having the night of their life! If I could do those kind of shows every year for the rest of my life, I’d be so happy. That, and the taco shack. I try not to be afraid of many things. We only get one shot at life and I don’t want to waste it worrying – but I am definitely afraid of spiders. 
Q15: What is next for you/your plans for the next year?
15. I’m super excited to have my new single Old School Love come out in July this year. I absolutely love this song and know girls all over the nation are going to relate to it! I’m excited to get on the road and let people hear it live. I’ve also recorded a song with the band Embrace – keep an eye out for details on that collaboration! I’ve been spending a bit of time in Nashville too and will be back out there in the Autumn to play some shows. 
Q16: What would your advice be to those out there who want to live out their dreams? 
16. My advice to those out there who want to live out their dreams may seem cliche but seriously – do you. There will be so many people along the way either telling you that you can’t do something or telling you how you should be doing it. If I’ve learned anything over the past few years it’s that, the moments where I’ve truly been myself have been the times when people have connected with me the most and wanted to get involved in what I’m doing. 
Q17: Lastly, for those who don’t know where can people follow your career? 
17. If you are new to me and my music, there’s lots of places you can check me out! My website www.kerriwatt.com has a bit of everything. I’m a regular on Instagram and Twitter @kerriwatt. And you can follow me on Youtube and Facebook at KerriWattMusic. My music is on iTunes and all the major streaming sites – look forward to seeing you at a show soon! 

Leave a Reply

